Coping with Change

‘I DECLARE that God is bringing about new seasons of growth. I will not get stagnant and hold on to the old. I will be open to change knowing that God has something better in front of me. New doors of opportunity, new relationships, and new levels of favor are in my future. This is my declaration.’

– Joel Osteen, I Declare

I started reading I Declare 31 Promises to Speak Over Your Life by Joel Osteen and have found it to be an enjoyable read. From Day 1 up to Day 13, I have found it to be a tremendous source of encouragement, inspiration, and motivation that helps me remain focused on my targeted priorities for this season of my life.

I read Day 13 today and felt inspired to post what inspired me as I read it. Day 13 is significant to me, because change and I have not always been acquainted with one another in a manner I was comfortable with. Believe it or not, recent revelation allowed me to see that it was something I still wrestle with and from that I understood, in 2014, I needed a fresh perspective of what I understand change to be.

It didn’t hurt to hear the still, small voice of my Savior speak to me about Him being the author of change, from the perspective of the salvation experience alone, being a process of change, or transformation. Receiving this recently was the process by which the fresh perspective of change would be ushered in. Reflection allows me to see how I began the attitude of resistance to change and was continuing to react habitually in the same manner as an adult in the way I did as a child. God truly does make all thing new!

What I like about the declaration of Day 13 is how it speaks to me about coping with change by reframing how I see ‘change.’ What came to mind as I read and reflected on the declaration was how easy it is to accept change when God’s favor is involved in bringing something positive that brings about transformation, prosperity, or fulfillment. Time and maturity in my faith walk with God has challenged me to look beyond the reality of the condition of my current circumstances and trust and believe He is faithful to make this change well worth the encounter regardless of the experience associated with it.

I am now persuaded that He does work everything together for good. You read it, it’s written in the Bible, and you hear it preached, but it must be believed, embraced, in order to be encountered. When those footprints in the sand seem to go on forever with only one set of prints and your focus consistently is on what was left behind not engaged in the moment of being carried by your Savior, change is hard to see and embrace as something working together for good.

Like the disciples who were instructed to get in the boat and sail across the Sea of Galilee, I am now on the other side of my desire to get to the better place and it took a tremendous amount of change to get me to where I stand now! I have since learned that acceptance is the means by which I learn to change and embrace the fresh perspective that allows me to see ‘change’ in the way God desires me to so I can see Him perform the miraculous and the impossible beginning with what He does within me!

May God bless you and help you to cope with the changes and transitions you encounter with faith, hope, acceptance, and love so you may experience the fullness of life Christ came for us to have.

Leave a Reply

