Better Place

‘And we rejoice in the hope of the glory of God. Not only so, but we rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance, perseverance, character; and character, hope.’

– Romans 5:2b-4 NIV

From this point, moving forward and looking ahead, what would the ‘better place’ look like for you if you are currently in a place you no longer desire to be?

Transitioning from being married through separation and divorce, I didn’t define what I desired the ‘better place’ to be, but I knew I did not want to remain where I was in 2005. To this day, I still recall the inquiry a close friend of mine made saying, ‘How do you deal with the anger?’ My response, ‘I focus on seeing myself in a better place.’

Since that time I have seen God do the impossible, the miraculous, and accomplish some amazing things, that without Him, I would not be in the ‘better place’ I am today! The passage of scripture from Romans 5 expresses eloquently the process by which I arrived at the ‘better place’ in which I now stand. My arrival culminated in the publishing of my first book titled Out of the Darkness: A Journey into the Marvelous Light. And now I look ahead with expectancy, optimism, and anticipation of something greater, better, and new on the horizon beyond where I currently stand in the ‘better place.’

Rejoice in the hope of the glory of God- allow your confidence in God’s faithfulness to be fueled by the inspiration, encouragement, and assurance of His word and the work of His grace within you and around you that helps you to advance, progress, succeed, and achieve in getting to your ‘better place.’

Rejoice in suffering- learn to accept and see the value of the tests, trials, and misfortune God allows, and uses, to conform us into the image of Christ. Though some circumstances are intensely painful to encounter, faith in Christ and the  hope of the glory of God says everything will work together for good because sharing in the sufferings of Christ positions me for the encounter of sharing in the power of His resurrection!

Suffering produces perseverance, character & hope- the proper, or appropriate, response to suffering positions me to encounter a greater display of God’s power to equip, enable, and empower me to endure, persevere, and overcome the internal/external oppositional forces associated with my transition towards the ‘better place.’

The posture of humility and the position of reverence remaining confident God is and will reward those who diligently seek Him is what allows the encounter of the ‘better place.’ Believe in the hope of the glory of God to be revealed in your transition to the ‘better place’ and watch God position you for the impossible and the miraculous!

May God bless you and help you to rejoice in Him and remain confident in Him despite the condition of your current circumstances so you may encounter the impossible and the miraculous.

Leave a Reply

