Psalmslife ♥

A psalm of David, regarding his experience in the cave. A prayer.

**

1 “I cry out to the Lord;
    I plead for the Lord’s mercy.”

Psalm 142:1, NLT

Sometimes troubles come to visit us in droves. It’s more than a simple hassle or two– rather it is devastating. It could be spinal meningitis, or a divorce. A car accident or a loss of a job. (Golly, I could go on and on.)

David is sitting in a cave. He is hiding. And he is completely overwhelmed by the twists his life has taken. He would never in a thousand years imagine it would end up like this. It all seems terribly out-of-control. And he is afraid.

Commentary

V. 1, I cry out to the Lord;
    I plead for the Lord’s mercy.”

“I cry out, and I plead.” This is the language of beaten and overwhelmed believer. About 20 years ago, I returned…

View original post 240 more words

Leave a Reply

