Relief in Grief through Acceptance

“If calamity comes upon us, whether the sword of judgment, or plague or famine, we will stand in your presence before this temple that bears your Name and will cry out to you in our distress, and you will hear us and save us.”

– 2 Chronicles 20:9 NIV

It would have been nice that while I was in the midst of my transition I would have only had to deal with one challenge at a time, not encountering anything else while going through something else until it was resolved. Life, unfortunately, is not that way. Like the waters that run in waves along the beach shoreline, or the ripples created from a stone tossed into still water, grief can come in waves of one or more conflicting emotions. Much like a roller coaster, grief can take us through intense turns, toss us upside down, spin us around, drop us and make us feel as if we are being thrown every which way all at once. My transition led me back in time to my childhood, brought up some intense emotions, dropped me low in feeling some deep pain and twisted me through many ranges of emotions from anger to disappointment to depression; all while experiencing what I was facing in the present at the time. There was a period where it was difficult to pray, because I felt overwhelmed and all I could muster was a plea to God for help, an expressed need for Him, or just long moments of silence.

What I like about today’s scripture reference is King Jehoshaphat’s willingness to accept the condition of his current circumstances acknowledging God as the source of his relief in the face of his calamity. I love reflecting upon 2 Chronicles 20:9, because it reinforces to me that no matter what I am facing or the reason for why I am facing it, God is attentive to listen to me and willing to answer my prayer and bring me relief. In fact, during my prayer time, sometimes, I would ask God to relieve me of my distress, duress and anxiety as I release it to Him.

Acceptance doesn’t mean I like what’s happening, or I agree with what’s happening, but it is what it is. I accept what’s happening without trying to fight against it in a way that will only make my grief more difficult to work through. I accept the fact that it is happening and I will look to God and wait patiently for Him to help me and bless me to transition through this towards resiliency. Is it possible that some of the grief I may be encountering currently is due to my unwillingness to accept that what is happening is happening, as if it shouldn’t be happening? I may not want it to be happening, but it is, so now what? Conflicts I may be encountering with others in my transition, is it possible my expectations of them and how I think they should be or what they should be doing; is it possible my expectations more so than the person I’m encountering conflict with is what’s causing my grief?

If I am truly accepting of my circumstances, then I am also accepting of who I am having to deal with in my circumstances the way they are and not how I think they should be. As I learn to accept and surrender to the reality of what I am facing, who I am facing in my circumstances, I can regain my spiritual equilibrium to best operate in a way that will allow me to make progress through my grief and transition towards resiliency.

“In times of disaster they will not wither; in days of famine they will enjoy plenty.” – Psalm 37:19 NIV

May God bless you and help you to encounter relief during your times of transition to grant you favor, strength and relief as you progress towards resiliency.

Leave a Reply

